Curriculum Overview

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a framework for children up to the age of five, setting out six key areas of learning around which activities should be based.

Prime areas:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development

Specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Knowledge of the world
  • Expressive arts and design

At St. John’s we ensure that all children are able to develop and use a range of skills in exciting ways both inside and outside. Each child has a key worker who will work closely with parents and carers to share successes and work on “next steps”.

Key Stage 1 & 2

The National Curriculum forms the content of what is taught in Years 1-6 and is divided into core and foundation subjects. These include:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Religious Education
  • Physical Education
  • History
  • Geography
  • Computing
  • Music
  • Languages
  • Art and Design & Technology


In KS1, phonics is taught using the Little Wandle. 

LW LS Accredited Logo HOR


Our current reading scheme is based on Little Wandle. 

To find out more about our approach to learning at St. John’s, please read the following:

Learning at St John's Parent Leaflet

Curriculum maps

Curriculum maps for each year group can be found on the respective class pages. If you have any questions regarding the curriculum used at St. John’s please contact the school and we will be happy to help.